Our vision, in partnership with the wider BHS community, is to empower students to be independent, articulate and confident thinkers and learners. As a collegial faculty we aim to develop the literacy, creativity and critical thinking skills of all students in a safe and dynamic learning environment where we foster a passion for learning and a passion for literature. By supporting individual learning needs, our students will be communicative and have the skills to embrace learning beyond the classroom.

NAPLAN Information

Student exam tips and techniques

Achieving success in Naplan


Congratulations to the Winners of the 2019 PCS Writing Competition

Write Round the Bends Award Ceremony

This week the winners of the Write Round the Bends Writing Competition were announced at an Award Ceremony hosted at Avalon Library. This year 106 students entered the competition by responding to the stimulus and submitting a 500word short story. The judges, many of whom are published authors, commented on the originality and flair of the entries. Well done to all students who entered and a special congratulations to the following winners:


Year 6
3rd place announced – Amber Ratcliff (Newport)
2nd place announced – Rikki Burlinson (Newport)
1st place announced – Indigo Tuckey (Bilgola)
Stage 4
3rd place announced – Lucinda Coolee (Barrenjoey)
2nd place announced – Natalue Parker (Pittwater)
1st place announced – Adam Inger (Barrenjoey)

Stage 5

3rd place announced – Sebastian Wellings (Pittwater)
2nd place announced – Emily Weeks (Barrenjoey)
1st place announced – Ines Simec (Barrenjoey)
Stage 6
3rd place announced – Cherie Pont (Barrenjoey)
2nd place announced – Miku Nakamura (Pittwater)
1st place announced – Cassidy Marshall (Pittwater)

Commendable mention to India Turner and Raph Katzen.

Special thanks to

  • Belle Turner for being the judge of the Year 6 category and for sharing her experience at the Award Ceremony
  • Lachlan Warrener for being the official photographer on the night
  • Sam Ferris for all technology expertise and hard work setting up the online submission and marking platform
  • Libby Armstrong for sponsoring the competition, donating book prizes and for being the Stage 4 judge